NCAA D1 Softball Announces 2014 Bracket

NCAA D1 Softball Committee Announces 2014 Bracket

The Fastpitch TV Coverage of The 2014 WCWS is sponsored by

INDIANAPOLIS— The University of Oregon was named the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship today when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Ducks, champions of the Pacific-12 Conference, are 49-7-1 and will play Utah Valley, an automatic qualifier from the Western Athletic Conference. Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification, while the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend.

Team pairings were determined by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition.

The Southeastern Conference led all leagues with 11 teams selected to the championship tournament. The Big Ten and Pacific-12 Conferences each placed five teams in the championship tournament, respectively. Six teams are making their first appearance in the tournament: Bryant University, Charleston Southern University, Dartmouth University, Utah Valley University, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville and Texas Southern University.

Only 11 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, and eight are in this year’s bracket.


Eugene Regional – May 16-18 at Eugene, Oregon * Indicates host institution
No. 1 seed Oregon* (49-7-1) vs. Utah Valley (18-40)
Wisconsin (34-18) vs. Albany (NY) (33-11)

Minneapolis Regional – May 16-18 at Minneapolis, Minnesota
Auburn (39-17-1) vs. North Dakota St. (35-16)
No. 16 seed Minnesota* (41-9) vs. Green Bay (27-12)

Tempe Regional – May 16-18 at Tempe, Arizona
No. 9 seed Arizona St.* (44-10-1) vs. Dartmouth (31-17)
Michigan (42-12) vs. San Diego St. (39-17)

Tallahassee Regional – May 16-18 at Tallahassee, Florida
South Carolina (35-20) vs. South Fla. (41-15)
No. 8 seed Florida St.* (50-6) vs. Fordham (36-18)

Gainesville Regional – May 16-18 at Gainesville, Florida
No. 5 seed Florida* (45-11) vs. Florida A&M (24-27)
Stetson (38-12) vs. UCF (41-16)

Seattle Regional – May 15-17 at Seattle, Washington
Northwestern (33-16) vs. BYU (33-21)
Iona (24-22) vs. No. 12 seed Washington* (33-13)

Waco Regional – May 16-18 at Waco, Texas
No. 13 seed Baylor* (42-13) vs. Northwestern St. (30-20)
Houston (32-21) vs. Tulsa (50-7)

Athens Regional – May 16-18 at Athens, Georgia
North Carolina St. (34-16) vs. UAB (31-25)
Chattanooga (34-19) vs. No. 4 seed Georgia* (45-12)

Los Angeles Regional – May 16-18 at Los Angeles, California
No. 3 seed UCLA* (48-6) vs. Southern Utah (23-29)
Long Beach St. (38-17) vs. Notre Dame (39-11)

Lexington Regional – May 16-18 at Lexington, Kentucky
James Madison (44-13) vs. DePaul (41-9)
No. 14 seed Kentucky* (44-15) vs. Ohio (32-24)

Tucson Regional – May 16-18 at Tucson, Arizona
No. 11 seed Arizona* (41-13) vs. Boston U. (35-19)
Louisville (36-20) vs. LSU (35-22)

Lafayette Regional – May 16-18 at Lafayette, Louisiana
Texas (33-21) vs. Mississippi St. (38-19)
Texas Southern (31-18) vs. No. 6 seed La.-Lafayette* (44-8-1)

Norman Regional – May 16-18 at Norman, Oklahoma
No. 7 seed Oklahoma* (45-10) vs. Bryant (32-20)
Hofstra (33-13) vs. Texas A&M (35-20)

Knoxville Regional – May 16-18 at Knoxville, Tennessee
Lipscomb (39-13) vs. Virginia Tech (35-21)
Charleston So. (27-31-1) vs. No. 10 seed Tennessee* (42-10)

Columbia Regional – May 16-18 at Columbia, Missouri
No. 15 seed Missouri* (41-16) vs. Bradley (27-30)
Kansas (33-21) vs. Nebraska (40-15)

Tuscaloosa Regional – May 17-19 at Tuscaloosa, Alabama
South Ala. (40-12) vs. USC Upstate (45-7)
No. 2 seed Alabama* (45-11) vs. SIU Edwardsville (30-21)

The championship will be three weekends of competition. Four teams will participate at each of 16 campus sites in a double-elimination tournament.

The committee held selections for the 2014 NCAA Division I Softball Championship May 9-11. The 64-team field was selected from 293 NCAA Division I institutions sponsoring softball. Of the 64 teams, 32 teams received an automatic qualification with the remaining best 32 teams were selected on an at-large basis.

Regionals for the NCAA Division I Softball Championship will be held May 15-18 on 16 campus sites. At each campus site, a four-team, double-elimination tournament will be conducted and the 16 winning teams advance to the Super Regionals.

Super Regionals for the championship will be held May 22-25 on eight campus sites. At each site, two teams play in a best-of-three tournament format. The winners from each site advance to the NCAA Women’s College World Series.

Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams are paired by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams within the same conference were not paired during regional competition.

2013 Highlights: Top-seeded University of Oklahoma won its third national championship defeating the University of Tennessee, Knoxville 4-0. National Player of the Year Keilani Ricketts homered and drove in four runs while Michelle Gascoigne pitched a three-hit shutout in game two of the Women’s College World Series final.

For complete championship details log on to

Softball Junk

2014 WCWS Coverage Sponsored by

Please become a BACKER of The Fastpitch TV Network (CLICK HERE)
Have A Question or Some Feedback? Click and send me a voice message.

Sports Decorating Fastpitch Magazine Softball Meet Up Group Fastpitch Flowers Weighted Balls


Fastpitch TV Resources: – Become a fan of the Fastpitch TV Show on Facebook.
App.Fastpitch.TV – Find my iPhone, and iPad apps. – You can subscribe to the show on You Tube. – See all the photos I takes on my softball travels.

This content is provided with a Creative Commons Share-Alike License. Feel free to use this content, so long as you give credit to Gary Leland, of Fastpitch.TV and link to

Gary is a new media producer of fastpitch softball information. For advertising information send him an email to, or visit his personal website site at for more information on Gary.